Alserkal Avenue

If you have ever thought people exaggerate when they say:  “life in Dubai is exciting,” they’re not lying!!!  I wake up everyday hungry to start my day.  Everyday brings another opportunity to either meet interesting people (from all over the world), or learn something new, be it something about the city, or just life in general.

Today was a day to have a small taste of the art scene here in Dubai.  My neighbor (and a friend I feel I’ve known all my life) and her friend (a new friend I also feel I’ve known for ages!) invited me to come to Alserkal Avenue.

Alserkal Avenue is a cluster of warehouses that over the years have been converted into art galleries, art studios and other creative shops.  Alserkal Avenue oozes creativity, culture, knowledge…emotions!  It is not wonder why this place has evolved into being an interesting art hub in the city.

Overwhelmed and tired, I have come home to write about my favorite pieces.  I hope you enjoy them as much as we did!

Tony Cragg in Leila Heller gallery:

20170214_123744

Tony Cragg

Safwan Dahoul in Ayyam gallery:

Angelica Dass and her project Humanae…which goes beyond skin tones.  It touches the very core of human existence, who we are and how we define ourselves.

20170214_122443

And since today is valentine’s day, I thought I would include a love story piece.  Unfortunately I cannot recall the name of this photographer.

20170214_121006

And last but not least..

whatsapp-image-2017-02-14-at-3-48-37-pm

A memory captured on a piece of art:  priceless!

whatsapp-image-2017-02-14-at-1-09-35-pm

Working…

20170214_170843

And us, the art lovers : )

Leave a comment