Al Noor Mosque

Have you ever had the urge to go back to a place where you’ve left unfinished business?

Inspiration called me this morning to head up to Sharjah, to finally put an end to what seemed to be my obsession since last Friday night.  The Friday, when for the first time, I managed to get myself into a taxi and said:

“To Sharjah!”

“Where exactly, Ms.?”  Asked the driver.

“I don’t know…drive me in that direction till I say stop.”  “Please.”  Smile.

That warm evening while on Corniche Street, I noticed Al Noor mosque with the most amazing sunset kissing its roof good-bye for the night.   The white walls were stained orange and I knew that’d be only for a brief moment.  I cried out:  “this is my stop, thanks!”

Al Noor mosque

I knew then, I’ve made a big mistake for leaving my watercolors at home….till this morning.

I found myself again, sitting on the spot where I had admired the beauty of this structure.  Looking for shade, I sat on a bench.  I was in the place I wanted to be.  I was once again outdoors, fascinated by the many wonders of the place I now call home.

 

Getting ready to sketch

 

The end result of my study….

 

Al Noor mosque

And the final touch….

 

Artist signature

Leave a comment